Book Review: The Forest of Enchantments by Chitra Banarjee Divakaruni.

I took the longest time to write a review on this book. The Forest of Enchantments by Chitra Banarjee Divakaruni is such a book that will cast a spell on you. The Forest of Enchantments did leave me enchanted. Read on to know more about this book. 

About the book

  • Title: The Forest of Enchantments.
  • Author: Chitra Banarjee Divakaruni.
  • Botopsy rating: 5/5⭐
  • Length of the book: 372 pages long.
  • Genre: Fiction/ Mythology.

Synopsis

The Forest of Enchantments is a retelling of an epic The Ramayana, one of the world’s greatest epics, that is not only a story of the victory of good over evil but also a tragic love story, in Sita’s version. This book also emphasises upon often neglected women characters of The Ramayana: Kaikeyi, Surpanakha, Mandodari and Urmila. This book is a powerful comment on duty, betrayal, infidelity and honour.

My views 

I, like many people, look for a phenomenal climax and this book happens to have, though predictable but, a remarkable one! No matter if you have read or watched The Ramayana, this book holds the competence to keep you turning its pages while crying.

There are different ways of looking at a story and Divakaruni proves that. She tells the readers that neither Ram nor Sita is completely correct, we are all humans with our delusions. The readers will personalize Sita’s story as Divakaruni characterises what it means to be a woman, then and now.

I loved the Divakaruni’s effort to make the voices of all the important female characters of the Ramayana be heard and discovered. Be it Sunaina, her mother and an able leader, Urmila, her sister and Lakshman’s suffering wife, Surpanakha; Ravan’s sister wronged by two men, or even on Kaikeyi, Ram’s stepmother who is almost always considered as the villain, who in this book is portrayed as a strong woman.

Writing style

Divakaruni’s writing style is one of the strongest reasons to read this book. I’ve read Palace of Illusions and the writing style made me pick this book. The richness of her language, the detailing in her characters and the composition of the plot left me awed. I find solace in her writing.

Her narrative takes us through an astonishing voyage on Sita’s life experiences. In this book, I admired Divakaruni’s manner of describing “Love” in Sita’s words, how at every juncture of Sita’s life she encountered different forms of love. I could easily glide through pages.

Characters

The main character, Sita, is a source of inspiration to women. She taught me the importance of saying “no” and when to say “no”. Sita’s character arc is tremendous. I also admired the depiction of Kaikeyi’s strength and Sita’s resilience. Although I was disappointed when I read so less about one of the characters, Surpanakha. Overall, I enjoyed reading about the ladies of the Ramayana.

Recommendation

Reasons to pick this book
  • If you are a mythological fiction devotee.
  • To read Divakaruni’s work and to get enchanted by her writing
  • If you want to read a heart-breaking story.
  • If you want to read a powerful female voice.
Reason not to pick it (maybe)
  • If you’re not up for a mythological or a love story.

Finally I’d like to say that I loved reading this book, the words flowed through me. The Forest of Enchantments is not just a retelling, rather it is a book that tells it’s own story. I don’t really want to end talking about this book, but I have to, well, we can talk more about it in the comments section maybe? *Wink*


So, this is my review on the book The Forest of Enchantments by Chitra Banarjee Divakaruni.  Now, what are you waiting for, pick this book asap and let me know how you felt about it in the comments section. Until then, Happy Reading 🧡

One thought on “Book Review: The Forest of Enchantments by Chitra Banarjee Divakaruni.

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started